Lesson Planning.

This is by far my favorite assignment, although I’m having to keep reining myself in from doing too much. I really like that I can see how this directly relates to my future career and it is something I can definitely revamp and use in the future. I am doing a lesson on critical thinking using the New York Times’ Room for Debate segment. The debate from 10/29 just happens to be “Should High School Last Six Years?” and since I am gearing my lesson toward 8th graders this is perfect. I was lucky enough to get a lesson plan template from my teaching professor and have used that to outline what I am doing:

Image

 

This outline has helped me a lot – this is my first lesson plan and I didn’t have a clear idea of how to frame it at first. Does anybody else have any other templates they’ve used? I would like to see others for future planning/maybe to create my own.

 

The actual lesson is going to involve me demonstrating (in a flipped video) how to mark up an article using the questions I am proposing the students to answer: What are the issues and the conclusions? Which words or phrases are ambiguous? Are there any fallacies in the reasoning? and How good is the evidence?  (from Asking the Right Questions: A Guide to Critical Thinking) As a class we will finish modeling the behavior I would like to see, then they will do this to their own article in pairs.

 

I hope to actually use this in the future, and think everybody should check out the Room for Debate section of the NY Times, just because it’s good. Here is the link to the one I am using for my lesson: http://www.nytimes.com/roomfordebate/2013/10/29/should-high-school-last-six-years

4 thoughts on “Lesson Planning.

  1. I plan on using a Jing/Camtasia type tool to create my video – it’s more important for me to have the thought process spoken aloud than the actual marking, although I will show that as well. I plan on using a tablet and some sort of app or tool that allows me to mark up an open document. I really want the students to understand they WHY of the marking more than the HOW.

  2. Pingback: TED-Ed want to be inspired? | www.elearnhub.org

Leave a Reply

