Learning Project

This project was really fun for me because I’m in a teaching class on Thursdays and I tried to incorporate things I’ve learned in that class into my lesson. Mind you, it is still my first attempt at a lesson so I feel a little nervous because I know what great teacher librarians can do, and I do not feel near that level yet. It gets me excited for the curriculum class to learn all of the skills in creating lessons and different tips and tricks and formats to do so.

I created a video the (8th grade) class will watch before class, then in class we will finish what I started modeling for them. So here is a link to the video (I meant to name it critical thinking but pressed enter too soon and couldn’t figure out how to change it):

http://bcontext.com//bfile/player/gkbih/?auth=RRHCOT814ZSR49MGMYBUBXSE32IPSY7QS9OTKYY28FX79V6ZOV

 

I used the lesson plan template I posted last week as an outline for my lesson, although I modified it a little to add a flipped segment section, and modified a rubric from readwritethink.org, which worked wonderfully. I also created a GoogleDoc I would share with my students to be able to access video and articles we would be using.

 

Articles: http://www.nytimes.com/roomfordebate/2013/10/29/should-high-school-last-six-years

 

2 thoughts on “Learning Project

  1. I love the word Critica, I think that was a happy accident. I’d like to hear more about the teaching class, is it here at UNCG? It seems like you got good ideas from it. Your topic is really interesting to me, critical thinking skills are so important and I’ve often wondered how one might go about it. Your video breaks the process down really well. Nice job!

  2. You’re video’s really solid– your explanations are clear, and the addition of the highlighting really helps tie them into the example. I think as a student, I would have found your tie-backs to the previous class really helpful for keeping context.

Leave a comment